Of your suicidal tendencies.

13 02 2007

Last night, my sister asked me for some info regarding the death of a Korean actress. Apparently, somebody told her that Jeong-eun Kim (aka Vivian here in the Philippines), the star of Korean TV Drama Lovers in Paris was allegedly found dead in her boyfriend’s house. Doubtful and unbelieving because she’s a huge fan, she sent me text messages for confirmation.

Since I’m working for a Korean company, she is somehow expecting that I know the entire buzz that has been happening in Korea. Gawd. It’s really my fault, recalling how I sometimes brag tell that some of those Korean stars are our clients.

Anyway, to keep my sister’s sanity, I did some digging and found out that the suicide is not her favorite actress. Instead it was a young actress named Jeong Da-bin, the star of Attic Cat, which was shown here in the Philippines not so long ago. Her body was found hanging in the bathroom of her boyfriend’s house.

While my sister is relieved knowing that Vivian is still alive, a lot of people are still mourning over Da-bin’s death. People are also worried that the incident of suicide in Korea will rise. According to this article from Korea Herald, copycat suicides is threatening to rise:

Experts fear more copycat suicides for Korea which is already dealing with the highest suicide rate among the member nations of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.

Now that is sad. I wonder why people do it. I wonder why people even think of ending their lives. Depression? Sure, but is suicide really the answer? Will it bring you to a better place?

If plain suicide already boggles my mind, then copycat suicide is really beyond me. I mean, why? Do people find it cool to follow celebrities to death? This trend should stop! I hope the authorities are doing something serious about it.

If you are depressed and God forbid, considering suicide, please change your mind. Life is so beautiful. Try to get up and fix yourself. You’ll be thankful someday that you chose to live and fight it out.

There is hope.

Actions

Information

10 responses

13 02 2007
empressmaruja

South Korea has the highest number of suicide rates in the world, even a female singer (Oo-ni) killed herself three weeks prior to Da-Bin’s death.

According to reports, Da-Bin has been depressed over not able to find work. She even posted a some-sort-of-a suicide note on her official webpage.

Sigh…this is just so sad.

13 02 2007
empressmaruja

Hey, what happened to my last comment? 😦

14 02 2007
zee

its an act of coward. Avoiding doesnt really solve the prob.

14 02 2007
suicide

cross the bridge when you get there….:-)

15 02 2007
empressmaruja

I agree with zee. Sorry about the pro-suicide people, but taking your own life is a sign of weakness. Weak enough to face problems head on, move on, rise up, and most of all, survive.

15 02 2007
poojitha

Hey,You site is cool,i book marked it,copies you photography learning site text to my blog,hope you dont mind

15 02 2007
insomnity

empressmaruja,
I hope you did’nt lose any of your comment. Japan and Korea have high rates of suicide. I wonder why.

zee,
I’m glad you are so positive with your outlook in life.

suicide,
I love you. God loves you. Stop harming yourself.

poojitha,
Thanks. Right now I don’t mind you copying my post. I just hope you realize that there’s more “proper” way to do it. Cheers.

15 02 2007
Kahea

Wow! You had me wondering there for a moment if that actress had died or not!

17 02 2007
insomnity

Kahea,
Hehehe. Sorry bout that

25 02 2007
dimaks

Suicide is also widespread among japanese people. In fact, in my university, you can see iron grills and nets at the exit stairs and building rooftops.

Leave a Reply

